Griffith Park – En Fuego

Took a few pictures from the roof of my building. Pretty crazy – they just had the Observatory shut down for two years to remodel.

Helicopters are everywhere.

The latest from local news provider KTLA here.

5/9 PM Update: Helicopters are still everywhere. Most recent report is that the fire is “75% contained.”

KTLA calls this area an “urban tinderbox.” It’s melodramatic, but strangely appropriate for me as the fire against the back drop of the Hollywood sign was visible from my office window and now this one from my roof. Both started by carelessness as well. Considering how little trees LA has – and the cost of insurance here – this sucks.

On a lighter note…

To the Angelenos out there, rest-assured that I won’t sleep until that cross at the Highland exit of the 101 is adequately fireproofed.

Click on the image (or here) for the full collection of shots.

~ by CK on Tuesday - May 8, 2007.

Leave a comment